Overview

Introducing the Role Migration Tool! The Role Migration Tool is a self-guided tool to enable organizations to migrate over to our new and improved Role-Based Permissions experience! Not only is Role-Based Permissions is a more intuitive, time-saving user management experience, but once on Role-Based Permissions, organizations will have immediate access to functionality like Site Admin and Caseloads.

Known Limitations

There are some limitations to the functionality right now. Our Development team is working to address these.

  • Role-Based Permissions does not currently support dynamic fields on user forms.

  • Role-Based Permissions does not currently support “Ignore Program Assignment”.

  • Caseloads in Role-Based Permissions does not allow you to set permissions restrictions (URLA) at the Tier 2 level.

  • Emergency Contact and User Picture are not currently supported on the user profile in Role-Based Permissions.

Functionality & Features

The new Role-Based Permissions experience is a better way to manage users and permissions, than the existing permissions sets. It will save you time and resources, as Roles will act as templates for permissions that you can apply to multiple programs and users at once.

This tool requires only 2-clicks and then an organization will be automatically migrated onto Role-Based Permissions, with access to Site Admin and Caseloads.

As a note, it is recommended that larger organizations run the migration during non-peak works hours.

How to navigate to the Role Migration Tool:

  • On April 28, administrators will receive this banner on the bulletins page, encouraging them to move to Role-Based Permissions.

  • An administrator can click “Get Started” to be navigated to the Role Migration Tool.

How to run the Role Migration Tool

  • After clicking “Get Started”, end users will be directed to the Account Management app to begin the migration.

  • We encourage every organization to read through the disclaimers presented on the page.

  • Once you begin the migration permissions can no longer be saved via the old UI.

  • NOTE: Advanced Access given to users for “User/Program Profiles” will be removed. We encourage you to assign any users that previously had this access as Site Administrators moving forward, as they will be granted that access as Site Administrators.

  • After reading through, the end user will click “Switch Now”. After clicking, the user will be brought to this page:

  • Behind the scenes, we will be migrating every permission set into its own Role.

  • Once the migration is complete, you will be able to manage your new Roles as well as Users, Sites, and Programs from this Account Management app and begin implementing Site Admin and Caseloads!

How to Merge and/or Deactivate Roles:

  • After you have run the migration, you can now begin to consolidate and deactivate Roles for a better permissions and user management experience. While it is not required, it is highly encouraged.

  • If you have multiple permissions sets (now Roles) with the same name, they will get differentiated as Roles in the following manner: “Permission Set Name – Program Name”

  • In order to deactivate (or archive) a Role that you no longer wish to use, you can go to the Role Details page, then click on the ‘kebab’ in the upper righthand corner. Click “Deactivate”.

  • You will then be brought to a popup that will have you type in the Role name in order to confirm deactivating. This is to ensure no Roles get incorrectly deactivated by accident, as deactivating a Role cannot be undone.

  • Click “Save” on the popup, and the Role will be archived.

  • Deactivating a Role will remove all links to Users. If the User was only linked to that Role, they will not have access to anything. Therefore, if you want a User to have permissions and access, you will then need to assign them to an active Role.

  • You can consolidate similar Roles by deactivating Roles as well. For example, after migration onto Role-Based Permissions, you might now have two very similar Roles (formerly permission sets) for Case Managers. You can consolidate these two roles by unassigning all Users from one of the Case Manager Roles, reassigning them to the other Case Manager Role, and then deactivating the original Case Manager Role. This creates a much more streamlined and intuitive user experience.

To learn more about how to utilize the rest of our Roles-Based Permissions functionality, check out the following KBAs or reach out to our wonderful Support team:

Did this answer your question?